Nepal + Mt. Everest Base Camp

I’ve been saving the best for last – tomorrow I fly to Nepal! I’ll be doing a 16 day organized tour to the base camp of Mt. Everest! I’m so excited – I’ve been looking forward to this for so long.
I’m nervous I’m going to get altitude sickness, but I have pills to take and we spend a few days just resting to acclimate to the altitude. The base camp is just over 19,000 feet.

The actual trek itself is 13 days. The tour I’m doing includes a day for guided sightseeing in Kathmandu, which was important to me. The company is also local to Nepal – it’s not a huge company with headquarters in a foreign country.

Here is a link to the itinerary for anyone interested. If all goes to plan, I’ll be at Mt. Everest on April 26! 

We fly from Kathmandu to Lukla, which is one of the world’s most dangerous airports, due to its small runway between mountain ranges. Not good for someone who doesn’t like to fly!

Our trek is a loop, which is much better than just an out and back. We go counterclockwise in the below image.


Everything is included, so we’ll have porters to carry our bags and meals will be prepared. We stay in what they call “tea houses,” which have beds (just a mattress I assume), a common room to eat and presumably showers.

I need to rent a few things in Kathmandu for the trek – it’s what most people do. You just pay for items by the day and I’m sure my guide can recommend good stores. I need trekking poles, a big down jacket, small daypack, etc. I didn’t want to carry that stuff with me my entire trip.

I’ll try to update everyone after sightseeing in Kathmandu, but then it likely won’t be until May 3rd that you hear from me!

Wish me luck!!!

5 thoughts on “Nepal + Mt. Everest Base Camp

  1. This is fantastic. Just remember to drink and drink, lots and lots of water. I haven’t been to that altitude, but remember climbing to 12,000 Ft in Colorado and also Machu Picu in Peru and having to drink water all the time. What an experience for you. I wonder if this is an additional add on. I don’t recall you mentioning that you were going to Nepal. Have a wonderful time.

    Like

  2. Good luck!
    You’re young and in good shape so you should do just fine…..although you never can tell. Altitude sickness can be a weird thing, you never know who it will affect.
    But the odds are very good in your favor and don’t forget that these tour guides are professionals. They were born and raised in these mountains. They have guided thousands of people up to the base camp of Mount Everest and know exactly how slowly to ascend so that your body has time to adjust to the altitude. It’s their job to get you up there and they wouldn’t be in business very long if they weren’t successful at doing that. So trust that you are in good hands. These guides know what they’re doing.
    You will be hiking in the tallest, grandest, most majestic mountains on planet Earth. What an experience! But it’s all about the journey, not the destination. So whether you make it up or not, you’ve still experienced the beauty of these mountains. An experience you will never forget.
    I wish I was there with you!
    So let your spirit soar…. and take plenty of pictures!
    Can’t wait to hear all about it.
    Sending good luck and lots of love your way!

    Like

  3. What a culmination of your trip!!! The mountains should be so incredibly beautiful. Take lots of photos. The company you are trekking with has done this lots and lots of time so they have experience with getting used to the altitude. You are young and in great shape, so I would think you’d be okay. But, as Dad said, it’s all about the journey. So just enjoy yourself and have a fabulous time!!!! Love you!

    Like

  4. What a fabulous adventure you’ve had since leaving last October! I can only imagine your excitement for Nepal! Have a wonderful time, good luck, take lots of pics and can’t wait to hear all about it! Luv you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

